Back to Previous Page

Carbon Monoxide Detectors 

Original document prepared by former Worldwide ERC® General Counsel Richard H. Mansfield III
Mansfield & Mansfield

Updated by Worldwide ERC® Government Affairs Adviser, Tristan North
Current as of January, 2017

Twenty-six states require the presence of a carbon monoxide detector in a single or dual-family residence via state statue. These states include: Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia (via adoption of the International Residential Code), Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin. Another 11 states require carbon monoxide detectors in private dwellings regulatory through the adoption of the International Residential Code or via an amendment to their state's building code: Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia, and Wyoming. Additional states have looked at the requirement and it is likely that the next legislative session will see the adoption of this requirement, given the widespread use and inexpensive nature of the devices.

Disclosure of the existence of carbon monoxide detectors in those states requiring their presence should be considered for inclusion in relocation policies and/or procedures.

The National Conference of State Legislatures has provided a compilation of these laws.

The foregoing is intended as general information only. Regarding your specific situation, Worldwide ERC® suggests that you consult with your own tax or legal advisor as appropriate.

For reprint information contact:

Back to Previous Page